811 W. John Street, Yorkville, IL 60560
For 24/7 Mental or Public Health Emergencies, call 630-553-9100
Mon 8:30am - 4:30pm  •  Tue - Thu 8:30am - 7:00pm  •  Fri 8:30am - 4:30pm

Scholarships Awarded To Local Students

May 13, 2015

Jane Swinney and Janet Goehst, members of Kendall-Grundy Community Action Board, a division of the Kendall County Health Department, awarded five area students with Community Service Block Grant scholarships at its annual dinner at R-Place restaurant in Morris, Illinois. The Scholarships are made possible by funding from Illinois Department of Commerce and Economic Opportunity. The recipients were chosen on a competitive basis, upon scholarship potential, commitment to civic affairs and career goals. The scholarships awards ranged from $1,000 to $1,200.

The scholarship recipients are:

  • Tia Carr of Kendall County- Aurora University for Communication
  • Katarena Shiner of Grundy County- Chuck Girot Award, Olivet Nazarene University for Environmental Science and Geology
  • Hannah Shiner of Grundy County- Olivet Nazarene University for Art
  • Jacob Halstead of Grundy County- Bradley University for History Teacher
  • Lynn Nicholson of Grundy County – Trinity Christian College for Criminal Justice

In the picture, from front left to right, are Katarena Shiner and Tia Carr. In the back, left to right, are Lynn Nicholson, Jacob Halstead, and Hannah Shiner.

Serving the Residents of Kendall County Since 1966
811 W. John Street, Yorkville, IL 60560   •   630-553-9100